|
an explanation and an apology: i'm really not a Viagra salesman
about two weeks ago i started getting really odd messages in my inbox. i knew something was going on but i couldn’t figure it out, and i contacted the company i was using as a mail provider and webhost.
kkwpkwfg@parahuman.org
Content-Type: multipart/mixed;
boundary=“===============1593671021==”
MIME-Version: 1.0
Subject: 210a7d94
To: kkwpkwfg@parahuman.org
bcc: lIlIIlIl00lOI1II@aol.com
From: kkwpkwfg@parahuman.org
This is a multi-part message in MIME format.
—===============1593671021==
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=“us-ascii”
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
xbkq
—===============1593671021==—
after several days of getting pretty much nowhere with my the tech support at my webhost, Dixie Systems, my hosting service was abruptly cut off ~ no more email, no more website, no warning, nothing.
it turned out that an attacker had used a malicious bot and had taken over the letterbox ~ the form-to-mail text box on my contact page for anyone to quickly send me a message without switching to webmail or a mail program ~ and it sent a few thousand spam messages with it. Dixie had shut off my service because my website had become a kind of digital zombie called a "spam gateway," but unfortunately i had no way of knowing this because Dixie didn’t call or send me an email (well, if they did send an email there was no way i could retrieve it, since they shut off my service).
long story short, i don’t use Dixie anymore and i’ve also started moving my clients off of their servers.
i apologize if you tried to email me or visit the site during the switch and couldn’t, but even more, i sincerely apologize if you received any junk mail from this domain. i looked into this type of attack and learned that this is yet another battle ground in the arms race between spammers and everyone else.
i traced the attacker’s IP address, 203.199.196.53, to an ISP in India, contacted their customer and technical support (no reply yet) and blocked that entire IP range from connecting to this site. i did that by adding the following block of text to my website’s main .htaccess file:
order allow,deny
deny from 203.199.196.
allow from all
so the letterbox is back again, but i’m using a different script now instead of AnyMail. i really wish that i had heeded the warning of AnyMail’s creators, which says that it shouldn’t be considered secure. with this in mind, i’m doing what i can to spread the word about AnyMail, starting with getting together tomorrow with one of my friends (who has a website promoting his music) and help him find a replacement for AnyMail.
strangely enough, the malicious bots that the spammers are using are breaking the judicious rule, "never return to the the scene of the crime," which in this case means that the address for the AnyMail version of the letterbox is continuing to get traffic even though there was nothing there. in response to this, i quickly put a working script in its place that logs the bot’s IP address so i can contact the customer and technical support at the ISP that the spammer is using.
for good measure, i added the fake letterbox script to my robots.txt file so that any unscrupulous bot will be sure to find it. don’t go to it yourself, though ~ i’ll assume you’re a bot and contact your ISP with details of your visit!

|